Our Team

Our team is made up of technologists, researchers, and designers who are passionate about bringing great technology and user centered design to governments. We bring this passion to every client relationship we have.



Tamara leads company strategy, operations and user research at NextRequest. She’s committed to building cities, governments and technologies that are both equitable and beautiful. In 2013 she was a fellow at Code for America. Previously, she worked at Azavea where she lead the spatial analysis and UX design teams and managed the development of web and mobile applications for clients ranging from local non-profits to federal agencies.

She studied Anthropology at Swarthmore College and did graduate work at Temple University. Outside the office she splits her time between backpacking in national parks and tinkering with sensors.

Andy Hull


Andy sets the technical direction for NextRequest. Before starting NextRequest, Andy was part of the San Francisco Code for America fellowship team. Over the past ten years Andy has worked with government agencies, academic research groups, libraries, non-profits, and think tanks to create user centered web applications.

He holds a BA in Geography and an MS in Information Science, both from the University of North Carolina.

Reed Duecy-Gibbs


Reed is the Chief Operating Officer and leads product design and business development for NextRequest. He focuses on making applications that are simple, beautiful, and easy to use. Prior to NextRequest, Reed was a fellow with Code for America and before that he was a Fulbright Scholar working on projects to make urban development information more accesible in Istanbul. In his free time he likes running, making things with his hands, and a good IPA.

Reed holds a Masters degree from the Rhode Island School of Design and a BA from Colorado College.

Dan Avery

VP Product Development

Dan is a developer and former Code for America Fellow who has deep experience with web and mobile applications. He has designed, coded, and managed projects to solve problems for the Internet Archive, Yahoo!, and AltaVista. Dan led the initial development of the Internet Archive's Archive-It project, bringing the Archive's groundbreaking web-preserving technology to libraries and archives around the world. Dan also created the iOS app StickyWords

Emily Berkeley


Emily is an engineer who likes building stuff and cleaning up code. Having worked with municipal, state, and federal agencies for years, she's excited to be working to simplify the process of releasing public records. She has a BA in Physics from Kenyon College and MSCE and MCP degrees from UC-Berkeley.

Rachel Meresman

Customer Experience Manager

Rachel manages everything customer facing for NextRequest, including on-boarding, training, and ongoing support. Before NextRequest she was the product manager at TaroWorks, where she helped build tools for collecting data and managing field operations in emerging markets. She is a Bay Area native and holds a B.A. in English from Oberlin College.